2021/22 Wednesday Twilight Series | Race 10

The Wednesday Twilight Series returned for 2022, with 16-19 knots of breeze providing some fast racing across the fleet.

Division A was won by Geoff Lavis’ Inglis/Dovell 50 UBS Wild Thing, ahead of David Gotze’s Lyons Cawse 60 Triton and the Swan Class 45 Amazingrace (Andrew Banks and Malcolm Roe).

Gerard Kesby’s Northshore 369 Valkyrie picked up where she left off in 2021, claiming consecutive Division B wins.

Anthony Bruce skippered Mark Ayto’s BH36 Local Hero – which competed in the 2021 Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race’s Two-Handed Division – to second place in the division, just five seconds ahead of Ray Stone’s Sydney 32 Razors Edge on corrected time.

Brent Carr and the crew on the Jeanneau 45.2 Francesca enjoyed a comfortable win in Division C, winning by more than two minutes on corrected time, from John Griffin’s Zara and Karl Onslow’s Ciao Bella.

Marcus Gillezeau’s Jeanneau So36i Aurora II was back on top of Division D, having won the first race of the series, with John Brennan’s Beneteau Oceanis 38 Dancing with the Wind and Lee Hawksley’s Jeanneau SO 349 Eau Well also on the podium.

The placegetters in all three divisions take home some great prizes from Brix Distillers, including bottles of spiced rum, caps, t-shirts and more.

The divisional winners are also placed into a draw to win the grand prize of a tour and rum tasting session at Brix Distillery, as well as a 5LT barrel of Brix Barrel Aged Rum, with custom labels.

Division A

1.UBS Wild ThingGeoff Lavis
2.TritonDavid Gotze
3.AmazingraceAndrew Banks and Malcolm Roe
4.OutlawAlan and Tom Quick
5.SOLyMARJason King

Division B

1.Valkyrie (C)Gerard Kesby
2.Local Hero (C)Anthony Bruce
3.Razors EdgeRay Stone
4.SuperfineGeorge Waldthausen
5.White NoiseDavid Klees
6.Sea ChangeNeil O’Hare

Division C

1.FrancescaBrent Carr
2.ZaraJohn Griffin
3.Ciao BellaKarl Onslow
4.Baltic LadyNeil Burling
5.ProntoDavid Freeman AM
6.Into the MysticArthur Psaltis
7.LoreleiMatthew Farr

Division D

1.Aurora IIMarcus Gillezeau
2.Dancing with the WindJohn Brennan
3.Eau WellLee Hawksley
4.PapillonJohn Roth
5.First LightDavid Jacobs and Roy Melick
6.Danielle (C)Christopher Taylor
7.Zin ZinTom Isbell

CYCA Principal Sponsor

CYCA Official Sponsors

CYCA Youth Sailing Academy Sponsors and Supporters