Winter Women’s Series – Race 1

One of the largest Winter Women’s Series fleets on record turned out on Sunday as the post-COVID-19 sailing season began. Sixty-three starters made it out on to Sydney Harbour to enjoy the first race from the Club after months of solitude.

It was an exciting day for the crew on Whistling Kite as Nicola Wakefield Evans skippered her first CYCA race and claimed second place in Division 2.

“It was fantastic racing! This weekend was the first race that I had skippered at the CYCA. I was very excited but also a bit nervous at the start with all the other large yachts around in the mixed fleet,” said Wakefield Evans.

The entrants were met with light westerly breezes off the start which continued as they made their way around the harbour course. Towards the later hours of the day, some ominous clouds developed as the wind slowly swung around towards the south with rain catching some of the fleet in the final stages of their racing experience.

“The conditions were lovely, the boat went really well and we were able to finish strong as the breeze strengthened going past Shark Island. We also had some new sails on board which may have helped,” said Wakefield Evans.

It was a family affair with husband Kym Evans and sons Tom, Mitch and Riley Evans were on board with Kate Lorimer and Mike Bellingham.

This race was the first of a two-race series with the second and final race taking part on Sunday 23 August, marking the end of the Winter Series. Next week will be the first of the 10-race Winter Series with even more entrants expected to take part.

More information on the series can be found by clicking here.

This week’s divisional placegetters:

Division Boat Skipper
Div 1 (non-spin)
1st Finn Janey Treleaven
2nd Outlaw Jess Angus
3rd Huntress Kate McGregor
Div 2 (non-spin)
1st It Happens Bridget Canham
2nd Whistling Kite Nicola Wakefield Evans
3rd Calibre Kathleen Stroinovsky
Div 3 (non-spin)
1st Krakatoa Jennifer Barker
2nd Star Ferry John Conroy
3rd Highway Patrol Jane McCullough
Div 4 (non-spin)
1st Zara John Griffin
2nd Eau Well Elaine Mostert
3rd Shorething James Butler

Full list of results can be found by clicking here.

CYCA Principal Sponsor

CYCA Official Sponsors

CYCA Youth Sailing Academy Sponsors and Supporters

Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
CYCA weekly newsletter