Photo: Sail Media

Vamp, Star Ferry, Wax Lyrical and Wild Oats enjoy Women’s Winter Series success

Vamp, Star Ferry, Wax Lyrical and Wild Oats have been crowned divisional champions for the 2021 CYCA Women’s Winter Series.

In light of the extended COVID-19 restrictions in Greater Sydney, Race 3 of the series was abandoned, meaning the final pointscore standings were determined from the opening two races.

Leander Klohs skippered the Corby 49 Vamp to victory in Non-Spinnaker Division 1, as the only boat in the division to place on the podium in both races.

Alexandra Conroy was at the helm as the Adams 10 Star Ferry won Non-Spinnaker Division 2 with the lowest points tally across the series.

Star Ferry was second in Race 1, before winning Race 2 to hold off Krakatoa (Janet Whitfeld).

Les Goodridge’s X50 Wax Lyrical completed a double after winning Division B in the Winter Series.

Louise Stevenson was the skipper for Race 1, before Francesca Leverkus guided Wax Lyrical to a decisive win in Race 2.

Marike Koppenol impressed at the helm of the Farr 43 Wild Oats (owned by Brett Eagle, Gordon Smith and Mark Skjellerup).

A second and third-place finish helped Wild Oats pip Zara (Theresa Seargent) and Pacatack (Wendy Tuck) to the title.

Click the button below for the full results from the Women’s Winter Series.

Non-Spinnaker Division 1

1VampLeander Klohs4
2SOLyMARMary King5
3It HappensBridget Canham8

Non-Spinnaker Division 2

1Star FerryAlexandra Conroy3
2KrakatoaJanet Whitfeld5
3SalonaPaula Dock/Beth Morley8

Spinnaker Division 1

1Wax LyricalLouise Stevenson/Francesca Leverkus6
2ZenClare Costanzo7
3GweiloTara Blanc-Ramos8

Spinnaker Division 2

1Wild OatsMarike Koppenol5
2ZaraTheresa Seargent6
3PacatackWendy Tuck6

CYCA Principal Sponsor

CYCA Official Sponsors

CYCA Youth Sailing Academy Sponsors and Supporters