Dancing with the Wind during Race 6. Photo: David Brogan

Amazingrace, Ellipse, Dancing with the Wind and Molon Labe claim first wins of 2022 Winter Series

Amazingrace (Malcolm Roe), Ellipse (Graeme Dunlop), Dancing with the Wind (John Brennan) and Molon Labe (Larki Missiris) claimed their first wins of the 2022 CYCA Winter Series, in Race 7.

The pursuit race started in 11-15 knots of breeze from the SSW, with clouds looming over the 86 boats in action.

Malcolm Roe’s Swan Class 45 Amazingrace took Division A2 honours, ahead of Minerva (Tim Cox) and Indi (Commodore Noel Cornish).

Graeme Dunlop’s Northshore 369 Ellipse won Division D from Calypso Magic (Jeff Mercer) and Valkyrie (Gerard Kesby).

John Brennan steered his Beneteau Oceanis 38 Dancing with the Wind to victory in Division G, chasing down Pacatack (Terry Wise) and Danielle (Christopher Taylor).

Molon Labe (Larki Missiris’ Sydney 38) also topped the podium for the first time this series, winning Division J1, while just two seconds separated second-placed Calibre (Richard Williams) and Wax Lyrical (Les Goodridge).

There was an enthralling finish to Division A1, with just 21 seconds separating winner Victoire (Darryl Hodgkinson), second-placed Gweilo (Matt Donald and Chris Townsend) and third-placed Zen (Gordon Ketelbey).

Phil King’s Salona 44 Last Tango won Division B for the third time in four races, in another tight contest. Last Tango was less than a minute ahead of third-placed Blink (Mark Gorbatov), with Oscar3 (Hugh Murray-Walker) second.

Russell Dixon’s Farr 1020 Farrst Company claimed back-to-back wins in Division E, ahead of Scarlett Sun (Robert Skol) and Indefatigable (Mike Nicholls).

Matthew Farr skippered Lorelei to consecutive wins in Division F, holding off Chancellor (Ted Tooher) and Bliss (Eric Frank).

CYCA Vice-Commodore Arthur Lane’s Beneteau Oceanis 51.1 Wilde Rush made it two wins from two in Division J2, with Sumatra (Basil and Shane Diethelm) and Tea for the Tillerman (Richard Allen) rounding out the podium.

Lee Hawksley’s Beneteau Oceanis 40.1 Boomerang beat Privateer (Raymond Golzar) in a Division K match race.

And Lisa Callaghan’s Mondo took handicap honours in the Sydney 38 Division, ahead of Utopia (John Amos) and Advanced Philosophy (Peter Sorensen). The Sydney 38 pointscore will be one to watch, with just five points separating the top four boats.

Race 8 of the CYCA Winter Series will take place on Sunday 26 June.

CYCA Principal Sponsor

CYCA Official Sponsors

CYCA Youth Sailing Academy Sponsors and Supporters