Wild Thing in action on the way to winning division A1. Photo: David Brogan

First points on the board in CYCA Winter Series

More than 100 boats battled for the first points of the 2021 CYCA Winter Series, with light winds and a busy Sydney Harbour providing the challenges.

Following the non-pointscore series opener on Anzac Day, there was almost a full fleet for Race 2.

The 5-10 knots of breeze was enough for some competitive racing across the 11 divisions, which were won by:

  • A1Wild Thing (Adam Lavis)
  • A2 Never a Dull Moment (Colin and Denise Wilson)
  • B Min River (Jiang Lin)
  • D Calypso Magic (Jeff Mercer)
  • E Krakatoa (Don Young)
  • FSagacious V (David Hundt)
  • GCheckmate (Fernando Tiglio)
  • J1SOLyMAR (Jason King)
  • J2Star Ferry (John Conroy)
  • KArietta (Laurie Lash)
  • Sydney 38Shine On (Phil Herscovics)

Check out the full results below and visit the CYCA Facebook page for a full photo gallery.

1stWild Thing Adam Lavis
2ndTritonDavid Gotze
3rdKOAAndy Kearnan and Peter Wrigley
1stNever a Dull MomentColin and Denise Wilson
2ndIndi Noel Cornish
3rdAmazingraceAndrew Banks and Malcolm Roe
1stMin RiverJiang Lin
2ndWax LyricalLes Goodridge
3rdFinnJaney Treleaven
1stCalypso MagicJeff Mercer
2ndForeign AffairMatt Wilkinson
3rdSpeedwellColin Geeves
1st KrakatoaDon Young
2ndRapid Transit A Wyllie, B Abbott and M McLean
3rdRoger ThatBradley Hastings
1stSagacious VDavid Hundt
2ndPanaceaReece Theedam
3rdScarlett O’HaraRobert Skol
1stCheckmateFernando Tiglio
2ndPacatackWendy Tuck
3rdWallopG Aitchison, P Kiely and S Wall
1stSOLyMAR Jason King
2ndBusiness As Usual (C)Paul Glynn
3rdTea for the TillermanRichard Allen
4thIt HappensDavid Chesters
1stStar FerryJohn Conroy
2ndRazors EdgeRay Stone
3rdTrimByran Moore
1stAriettaLaurie Lash
2ndLumierePeter O’Brien
3rdLa VelaChris Pentland
Sydney 38
1stShine OnPhil Herscovics
2ndThe GoatMitchell Gordon
3rdUtopiaJohn Amos

CYCA Principal Sponsor

CYCA Official Sponsors

CYCA Youth Sailing Academy Sponsors and Supporters