Short Ocean Pointscore – Race 2

Throughout the Short Ocean Pointscore Series races are run by all three clubs involved. CYCA, Middle Harbour Yacht Club (MHYC) and the Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron (RSYS) each run three of the races with this weekends, the Gascoigne Cup, run by the RSYS.

The weekend saw 29 competitors take on racing in the challenging 15-25knot westerly breeze.

The Gascoigne Cup is one of the oldest short ocean race trophies on the Sydney short ocean racing calendar with it first presented to the RSYS and raced for in 1886.

PHS Division 1 saw the winner of the annual Gascoigne Cup crowned, Walter Carpenter and his crew on Samarkand from MHYC. Following them in second was Rob Aldis’ Kayimai and Ian Shorts and his crew on the TP52 Bush Paul Group. Division 2 and the Thelma Plum Trophy was won by Ian MacDiarmid on Hell Razer, ahead of Phil Herscovis’ Shine On and Jack Stenning’s Stormaway.

In IRC Division 1 was won by Ian Short on Bush Paul Group ahead of Walter Carpenter’s Samarkand and Carl Crafoord on his Cookson 12 Sail Exchange. Division 2 was topped by Jack Stening’s Stormaway with Sean Rahilly & Justin Pelly’s Crosshaven in second and Dennis Copper’s Amante in third.

ORCi Division 1 saw Ian Short’s Bush Paul Group at the top again, ahead of Carl Crawford’s Sail Exchange and Rob Aldis’ Kayimai. Division 2 was won by Dennis Copper’s Amante in first, with Matthew Hanning’s Supernova in second and Steve Connor’s Arch Rival in third.

Click here for full results.

The next race will again be hosted by the RSYS and crew will battle to win the Morna Cup on Saturday 2 November.

CYCA Principal Sponsor

CYCA Official Sponsors

CYCA Youth Sailing Academy Sponsors and Supporters

Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
CYCA weekly newsletter