From left: Andrea Treleaven, Ian Treleaven, Rear Commodore Janey Treleaven, The Honourable Gabrielle Upton MP, Event MC & TV Journalist Jess Ridley

Congratulations Rear Commodore Janey Treleaven

Rear Commodore Janey Treleaven has today been honoured with the Vaucluse Woman of the Year Award, presented by the Honourable Gabrielle Upton MP, Member for Vaucluse, Minister for the Environment, Minister for Local Government and Minister for Heritage. Speaking at the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia’s International Women’s Day Women in Sailing Breakfast, Minister Upton commended Rear Commodore Treleaven for her dedication to not only the Club and community but also to her professional career.

“Janey is a local woman who has stepped up to an incredibly challenging voluntary leadership role in a pre-eminent organisation that runs a race that the world sees, honours and celebrates.” Minister Upton said.

“And she does all this while she’s an executive manager at Commonwealth Bank! Janey makes a community effort on behalf of all of us, and all of those who follow sailing in Australia and internationally to make a point that you can be a person involved in an executive role, a leader in a not-for-profit organisation, an accomplished sailor, and, in addition to that, bring focus to what other women are achieving in sailing.

“I have made her, for 2019, my Vaucluse Woman of the Year, and I want to honour her today.”

Rear Commodore Treleaven, who represented the Board at the Women in Sailing Breakfast this morning, was unaware she would be receiving the Award and was overwhelmed by the outpouring of support.

“I am honoured to receive this Award today,” Rear Commodore Treleaven said.

“I would like to thank the Board and all of you here, this Award means a great deal to me as a local in this community. I would especially like to thank my parents who are here as well who have supported me in everything I do.”

The Cruising Yacht Club of Australia is proud to recognise the achievements of Janey, and all women in our sport and community. This is the latest in a string of achievements by our team and Members, including Wendy Tuck becoming the first female skipper to ever win an around the world race, Adrienne Cahalan notching up 27 Sydney Hobart Yacht Races – the most of any woman, and Zoe Taylor going from Ocean Rookie of the Year in 2017, to the 2018 Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race IRC Division 3 Champion.

Congratulations again Janey, 2019 Vaucluse Woman of the Year!

#BalanceForBetter #IWD2019

CYCA Principal Sponsor

CYCA Official Sponsors

CYCA Youth Sailing Academy Sponsors and Supporters

Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
CYCA weekly newsletter