Photo: David Brogan

Shine On extends Winter Series lead with Race 6 win

Phil Herscovics’ Shine On moved three points clear atop the Sydney 38 Winter Series standings, with victory in Race 6.

Peter Sorensen’s Advanced Philosophy was first across the line, but Shine On took honours on corrected time, ahead of Dal-Trans Wld1 (Larki Missiris) and The Goat (Mitchell Gordon).

Shine On now leads the Overall Pointscore on nine points, three clear of The Goat.

A sou-westerly of 17-19 knots, with gusts of up to 25 knots, provided some entertaining racing across the board.

Gordon Ketelbey’s TP52 Zen held off Matt Donald’s Gweilo to claim a second win of the series in Division A1. Adam Lavis’ Inglis/Dovell 50 Wild Thing was third, while David Gotze’s Lyons Cawse 60 was fourth to remain on top of the overall standings.

Sandy Farquharson and Rob Aldis steered Khaleesi to a second consecutive win in Division A2, while CYCA Commodore Noel Cornish’s Indi remains in the overall lead.

Anthony Bruce’s Jones 40 Quetzalcoatl scooped her first win of the Winter Series in Division B, holding off Mark Gorbatov’s Blink and David De Coster’s Secret Men’s Business.

Secret Men’s Business and Wax Lyrical share the overall lead on 16 points.

Gerard Kesby’s Valkyrie beat a fast-finishing Crosshaven (Sean Rahilly and Justin Pelly) to win Division D.

Crosshaven chased down Martin Small’s Iluka (third) to snatch second place by just five seconds.

Roger That (David Ingram and Bradley Hastings) is now 10 points clear atop the Division E standings, thanks to a third win of the series.

Basil and Shane Diethelm’s Swan 48 Cruiser Sumatra topped the Division F podium, building on a third-place finish in Race 5.

Ciao Bella (Karl Onslow) was second, while Reece Theedam’s Panacea was back among the prizes for the first time since Race 2.

Fernando Tiglio’s five-race winning streak on Checkmate came to an end, as John Griffin’s Cheoy Lee 47ft Ketch Zara won Division G.

There were three new names on the Division J1 podium – Next, Lahara II and Tea for the Tillerman.

Meanwhile, Seb Bohm’s Beneteau Oceanis 40 Soleares chased down Neil Burling’s Baltic Lady to win Division J2, with James Butler’s Shorething third.

Christopher Taylor’s Beneteau Oceanis 34 Danielle moved atop the Division K overall standings with a first race win of the series. Chris Pentland’s La Vela and Philippe Maes’ Libertine rounded out the podium.

Check out the full photo gallery on Facebook.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is WINTER_1280x100_GREENMAN-1024x80.jpg
1stZen Gordon Ketelbey
2ndGweiloMatt Donald
3rdWild ThingAdam Lavis
1stKhaleesiSandy Farquharson/Rob Aldis
2ndIndiNoel Cornish
3rdAmazingraceAndrew Banks/Malcolm Roe
1stQuetzalcoatlAnthony Bruce
2nd (C)BlinkMark Gorbatov
3rdSecret Men’s BusinessDavid De Coster
4th (C)MinervaEdward Cox
5th Wax LyricalLes Goodridge
1stValkyrieGerard Kesby
2ndCrosshavenSean Rahilly/Justin Pelly
3rdIlukaMartin Small
1stRoger ThatDavid Ingram/Bradley Hastings
2ndKrakatoa Don Young
3rdRapid TransitA Wyllie, B Abbott, M McLean
1stSumatraBasil/Shane Diethelm
2ndCiao BellaKarl Onslow
3rdPanaceaReece Theedam
1stZaraJohn Griffin
2ndCheckmateFernando Tiglio
1stNext Hunt/Short/Bastick/Gleeson
2ndLahara IIGlenn Crane
3rdTea for the TillermanRichard Allen
1stSolearesSeb Bohm
2ndBaltic LadyNeil Burling
3rdShorethingJames Butler
1stDanielleChristopher Taylor
2ndLa VelaChris Pentland
3rdLibertinePhilippe Maes
Sydney 38
1stShine OnPhil Herscovics
2ndDal-Trans Wld1Larki Missiris
3rdThe GoatMitchell Gordon

CYCA Principal Sponsor

CYCA Official Sponsors

CYCA Youth Sailing Academy Sponsors and Supporters