Classic Australian designs dominate Great Veterans Race - Report by David Salter

  • Racing
  • NEWS
  • By Ross Macdonald
  • 29 Apr 2018 23:34:52

Joint winners of the Windward Trophy, Philip Brown (l) and Clive Gregory


Both divisions of the 2018 CYCA Great Veterans Race held on 28 April were won by yachts whose classic lines came from the drawing boards of legendary Australian yacht designers.

Fare Thee Well (Clive Gregory), which registered an emphatic win in Division 1, was
an early Alan Payne design. First in Division 2 was Anitra V (Philip Brown), a
famous Halvorsen sloop from the 1950s.

The two skippers shared the Windward Trophy, which for 30 years has been awarded
to the winners of the Great Veterans Race. The event is open to any yacht that
competed in the Sydney to Hobart Race prior to 1975, or was launched before 1975
and competed subsequently.

This year, for the first time, it was contested as a “stern chaser” pursuit race and the
new format proved popular with the 19 yachts that took part. The large fleet was a
tribute to the efforts of the local offshore community to reinvigorate the event as the
75 the anniversary of the Sydney-Hobart Race approaches.

Sailed in a variable SW breeze and predominantly overcast conditions, the race was
strictly “no extras” and tended to favour the larger yachts. Among the famous old
Sydney-Hobart entrants to take part this year were Fidelis, Stormy Petrel, Love &
War, Lahara, Struen Marie, Lolita, Mister Christian, Mercedes III and Solveig.

The handicap starts provided an exciting spectacle as less than 9 minutes separated
the entire fleet as they swept across the finishing line off Clarke Island.

By David Salter 


Division 1
Fare Thee Well (Clive Gregory)
Suraya (Carl Sriber)
Defiance (Nicole Shrimpton)

Division 2
Anitra V (Philip Brown)
Nike (Sam Hunt)
Lahara (Mike Warner)


  • Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race 2017 - Spirit of Yachting

  • CYCA Trophy Series Day 1 start

  • Video: Blue Water Pointscore Race 5 start - Bird Island


LATEST photos

  • Ladies Day Race 1

  • Captain Cook Cruises Top Jocks

  • Blue Water Pointscore Trophy Prize Giving