"The crème de la crème of twilight racing"

  • Racing
  • By Intern Marketing
  • 23 Feb 2017 11:33:00

Last night’s Club Marine Wednesday Twilight Race was another superb evening on Sydney Harbour. The four divisions (A, B, C and D), set off in a well-established 15-18 knot Sydney sea breeze, with gusts up to 20, in what was a fairly quick race around the harbour.

For the 54 boat fleet, there was little traffic on the harbour, with only a few 18 foot skiffs ripping around. This was, however, until the enormous cruise ship, Norwegian Star, began exiting Sydney Harbour at 1815 through the western channel, just as Division D was starting!

Whilst the Norwegian Star meant the fleet had to tack onto port soon after the start, it added an extra degree of difficulty to the race course, and gave passengers on board a beautiful view of racing on the harbour as they were leaving. Division D was the largest fleet this week, with 16 yachts competing. Bruce Druery with Liason came out on top, closely followed by Carl Sriber’s Suraya and Michael Kelly’s Pantomime IV.

In Division A, it was Phil Herscovics’ Shine On that won first place, followed by Richard Williams’ Calibre in second, and Craig Bailey on Spirit in third. It was a tough battle for the prizes, with all but one in the fleet finishing within five minutes of each other on corrected time!  

Eye Appeal was OCS at the start, however sailed a glamour race to take the win in Division B. Ed Psaltis’ Midnight Rambler was second overall, and Tim Ryan’s Vamos third.

Santé (Rob and Sue Segaert) took out Division C from Arthur Lane’s Inkonkoni, by just over 40 seconds on corrected time. The usual crew of Santé arrived at the boat ready to sail with the right frame of mind in the steady sea breeze.

“We had perfect breeze for our boat yesterday,” commented Rob Segaert. “It was an exciting race, the crème de la crème of twilight racing!

“I saw Arthur Lane (Inkonkoni) was second in the results this morning, he’s hard to beat.

“Division C is a perfect match for our boat, there are about nine Beneteaus in the fleet, and there’s great comparability between us, and a good rilvalry!” he continued.

John and Kim Clinton’s Holy Cow! claimed third prize in the division.

Segaert has been a Member at the CYCA for 40 years, and competing in the twilight racing for about 16 of them:

“Santé is not a race boat, it’s a cruiser. We enjoy the variety of things that the CYCA promotes. We occasionally compete in the Grant Thornton Short Haul Series as well, we love the two-sail sailing at the Club,” he explained, referring to the non-spinnaker element of the series. “That’s the beauty of the CYCA, they cater for all types and sizes of boats to race.”

The Club Marine Wednesday Twilight Series continues through until 29 March 2017, with great prizes to be won every week in each of the four divisions.

Click here for the results.


  • Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race 2017 - Spirit of Yachting

  • CYCA Trophy Series Day 1 start

  • Video: Blue Water Pointscore Race 5 start - Bird Island


LATEST photos

  • Blue Water Pointscore Trophy Prize Giving

  • Rolex Sydney Hobart 2017 - Official Launch Party

  • Commodore's Stella Artois Beer and Prawn Night 2017