CYCA SOLAS Trusts Board Members

  • Club
  • NEWS
  • By Martin James
  • 15 Feb 2017 08:40:00
©Andrea Francolini

Chairman David Kellett (left) at the Rolex Sydney Hobart Corporate Luncheon, which raises money for the CYCA SOLAS Trusts


At the CYCA SOLAS Trusts Fundraising Dinner in October 2016, Matt Allen regrettably announced his resignation as Chairman, but welcomed appointment of David Kellett in the role. Matt now joins the Board for the CYCA SOLAS Trusts, along with some other changes.

Following the tragic loss of six lives in the 1998 Sydney Hobart Yacht Race, the CYCA Safety of Life at Sea (SOLAS) Trusts were established by the Club and a number of the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia's then Directors.

“It’s been a terrific honour for me to be a part of SOLAS for such a long period of time,” Matt commented, as Chairman of nearly ten years. “The 1998 Sydney Hobart Race was the reason SOLAS was set up, but not the reason why it continues today.”

Chairman David Kellett commented, “I’m looking forward to continuing to develop the CYCA SOLAS Trusts the future. The Trusts have done a huge job of fundraising over the past ten years, Matt is to be commended for his effort, and I thank him for this opportunity.”

The Trusts' objectives are to:

-          Assist the immediate needy family of those lost at sea during Yachting Australia sanctioned races

-          Provide assistance to search and rescue organisations

-          Foster research and training to improve procedures and equipment for use at sea.

To read more about the CYCA SOLAS Trusts supporting organisations, donations and fundraising click here.

The CYCA SOLAS Trusts Board Members:

Chair:                      David Kellett

Board Members:        Matt Allen

                                Paul Billingham (CYCA Vice Commodore)

                                Arthur Lane (CYCA Rear Commodore)

                                Leander Klohs (CYCA Director)

                                David Gotze                       

                                Karen Grega (Secretary)



  • Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race 2017 - Spirit of Yachting

  • CYCA Trophy Series Day 1 start

  • Video: Blue Water Pointscore Race 5 start - Bird Island


LATEST photos

  • Ladies Day Race 1

  • Captain Cook Cruises Top Jocks

  • Blue Water Pointscore Trophy Prize Giving